Why Every Parent and Their Child(ren) Should Watch Tall Girl

Kemmy D
4 min readSep 24, 2019
Tall Girl Movie Review
Image: Netflix

If the name is familiar, you might have seen it on Netflix. Honestly, when I first came across this movie title, I just scrolled over it on Netflix. But after a few days, I saw articles on the internet that labelled the movie ‘controversial’. There were many negative reviews for Tall Girl, especially for a Netflix movie. This made it interesting for me and I wanted to see how bad the movie really was. So, I made myself some nachos with Jalapenos and Cheddar cheese, poured myself a pint of beer and snuggled on to my couch to watch it last weekend.

Yes, It’s One of Those Coming of Age Movies

The last time I watched coming of age movies on purpose was when I was in college, some ten years back. I must admit that I am not a fan of them. Tall Girl can very well be classified under this genre, if it exists. Well, if you are a Netflixer, then you know it can also be classified under those ‘Late Night Comedy’ movies.

Tall Girl is a comedy, because it has a happy ending, but there’s a lot to learn from it. It is not just a movie about tall girls, but has more to it. The story is about a tall girl (Jodi), played by Ava Michelle, who is 6 foot 1 inches tall in real life, as the character in the movie.

--

--

Kemmy D

Dogs over humans. Coffee over Beer. Topics I write on include but are not limited to life, finance, motorsports and satire.